Decanting Damson Gin

A very larger kilner jar has been sitting in the corner of the  kitchen for four, (or is it five?) years. I'd made some damson gin and had been intending to decant it ever since.

Len and I did it today.  The reason? I was awaiting delivery of an electric deep fat fryer that I wanted to put into the space. Two and a half litres of gin. It tastes sweet and very medicinal. Not something you would really want to swig back Here is Len pouring the liquid down a funnel into the bottle. His training in a chemistry lab comes in useful sometimes.

After that, I popped up to see Anne with Basil to enjoy a cup of tea. She'd gone out earlier specially to buy me gluten free chocolate digestives. Only the second time she'd been to a shop since lockdown began. At age 87, she needs to shield but she is very active and maintains a lovely garden.Despite the sky being very gloomy, it was quite warm enough to sit out in the garden and enjoy her hydrangeas. She had made for me a most beautiful birthday card.

And then it was time to drive to Staunton Harold. I had asked to go there to be able to sit outside and enjoy a cup of coffee. But it proved better than that. The Peach Tree Café had opened, so we were able to order toasted sandwiches, tea and cake. We sat under the covered area of the pergola while it drizzled gently.

Took Basil down to the lake afterwards where Len found a selfie stick. Took a selfie of me and  him on my phone. The first time I ever saw someone taking a selfie with a selfie stick was at Jokulsarlon in Iceland. A young Japanese girl who looked as if she'd just walked off the set of Kill Bill. I remember she wore a mini skirt and thick black tights.

Finally, the delivery man from Pizza Hut arrived at 7.10 pm with birthday pizzas for Len and me, ordered by George as a present. Mine was very generously endowed with vegetables.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.