Latrigg Panorama

I decided to have an energetic day today so I girded my loins and walked up to Latrigg, which is where the best view over Derwentwater is to be found. I'm not usually a great one for high level photos, I usually prefer my views to be at lake level with a couple of rocks for foreground interest.

Nonetheless, I'd decided that that's what I'd do and set off. Now I know you drive up there and park within 15 minutes of the top but today I was in full mountaineer mode. I did find it tough going, I took what I thought would be the shortest way but it involved a tough climb and a bit of a scramble (on the way back I found the milder zig-zag route). When I got to what I thought was the top, I admired the view and took a few photos, then sat down to eat my lunch and watch a covey of four microlight things flying over. I considered that the gods of fortune could have smiled on me and given me some better light after my efforts. They replied by throwing a few drops of rain at me but I don't think their hearts were in it, they soon stopped.

After lunch I carried on a walked round a bit more to where the proper summit was but I'm glad I stopped where I did because I had that place to myself whereas the proper summit seemed to have hordes of people on it. I took some more photos including one I've added as an extra but the light was even poorer by then.

The walk down the mellow route was easier but I did have to mingle with loads of family groups who didn't seem to worry much about my need for social distancing.

I got back to the site, made a cup of tea and the sun came out!!!

Thanks for everything on yesterday's blip from Loweswater. It seems to be on page 2 of the 'Populars'. You're very kind.

I'm putting an album of pics from this trip here if you're keen to see more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.