Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Itty Bitty Squirrel

Thanks for the comments, stars and hearts on my last couple of blips.  I very much appreciated them.  x

I haven't seen a Harris's Antelope Squirrel around in years. I think this one is practicing "heat dumping."  When their body temperature reaches its upper limits they will get into a cool shady spot and lay down spread-eagle with their belly pressed against the cool ground or in this case, a big rock in the shade. This releases the heat from its body to help cool the animal down.

They weigh ~125g/4 oz,  their body length is about ~23.4 cm/9 inches and their tail, usually curved up, is 3.0-4.0 inches.  They like to eat seeds from cactus which may have been what lured it to my yard.

I've been looking around blip today looking for shots of comet NEOWISE and checking for EXIF data from those taken with cameras similar to mine.  I've also read a lot on the NASA website.  It's been cloudy all day and the sun has already set so tonight's a no-go.  I'd like to try because I won't be around in 6,800 years when it comes by again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.