Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Groovy

This wasn't what I had hoped to use for this week's mono Monday theme of 'groovy.'  I had been toying with a bunch of things, mostly in the beatnik interpretation of the word.  But a storm was in the distance, so I took the opportunity to stay in the middle of the street, camera on tripod in the wind and attempted taking my (almost) annual monsoon lightening photograph.  I actually caught 8 single strikes, the most ever.  I don't put the camera on any sort of timer.  That might be a cool thing for the pros to do. My philosophy is if you're not having fun (and maybe challenging yourself), why bother!  I have more fun trying to capture something with my itchy trigger finger.  I'll put the original in as an extra.  Maybe I'll do another 'groovy' thing or two for Tuesday's blip.

I won another silly newspaper contest.  This one by default because I was the only one who played.  I won an ugly T-shirt.  I might enter this lightening shot in their monsoon photo contest.  The winner of that wins a $20 gift card to Culver's.

Oh, so opinions...should I submit the color photo or the black and white version which seems to be less noisy.  I think the latter is more dramatic but I'm not sure what the storm chaser judge will like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.