An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Purple Orchid...

The purple orchid
Which came into my house
As a gift

Has been teaching me
A few things

When I take good care
It thrives

And when I keep busy
Doing other chores

Forgetting to put that
Ice cube in the vase
So that it keeps moist

The orchid becomes sad
And it's leaves wither

I have to constantly
Read it to know
How it is keeping.

And that is what
Happens all around me
With all those 
Whom I care for!

Madhukanta Sen 


Alan's support worker Zoe bought me this orchid way back in January.  It has flowered constantly since she brought it and is still producing new  buds (see extra)  A minor miracle.

Alan's pal Andrew's mum got in touch today to tell me that the family have moved to Aberdeen!  Of course we've not seen Andrew since before lockdown began and although Alan and Andrew have Facetimed each other, I haven't spoken to his mum for ages, so it was quite a surprise to learn this.   

Apparently poor Andrew is all concerned that this means he won't see Alan or us anymore, but she has reassured him this won't be the case.  I have replied to tell her to reassure him from us too.  In fact he'll probably see more of us as when he visits now, he will stay overnight to make the visit worthwhile.  Must get that arranged soon.

Just realised the time.  David will be back soon (more golf!) Better get dinner started.  One of my faves -  Nigel Slater's grilled lamb with minted feta.  Yum!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.