Success

I drove my car today.  Doug came with his starter battery, but the engine started right up on its own when I turned the key.  Getting into the car was tricky, as my knee gave out when I had to put all my weight on it, but I could use both legs getting out and I think I can do the same getting in.  I drove slowly around my neighborhood - here is a view from a street way down the hill toward the Sound - and then we went onto I-5 and I drove about 20 miles there.  It was great to be outside and in control.  Tomorrow being Twinsday, I'll wait until Thursday to head out to Jiffy Lube.  I'm really thrilled that my car did so well, as there's no way I'd ever be able to afford another one.  It's ten years old now, and I need it to keep running for another 15 or so.  Fortunately it has very low mileage.

That was the highlight in a very low day.  This latest horror with Trump's storm troopers has pushed me over the edge, and I keep breaking into tears.  I want to turn off my Email and not deal with what's out there, but then it piles up - I'm getting about 50 messages per day, all wanting me to take action and give them money I don't have.  I'm already just deleting what shows up in my junk mail without checking to see what it is.  It feels like Hitler's Germany all over again, and I don't know how we will save ourselves when so many support it or turn away from what is going on.  Are the Republicans really going to let the US become a fascist dictatorship run by a madman?  When are they finally going to say "no?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.