Nine in one

Back in the apartment, and a city run this morning. The route I chose took me along the length of Karangahape Road and then down Symonds Street and through Britomart Place to Quay Street. From there I made my way up to Ponsonby Road, my One Street. Pasted to the fence around a building site on Ponsonby Road was this collection of what I have been calling Local Thoughts.

I have previously seen three or four in the one place, but not ever anything quite like this. I am intrigued by the damage done to just two of them. Would like to know why those two have been found more worthy of defacement or removal.

A long and hard day at the office today. So; glad to be home and able to rest.

And to reflect on the dangers of exercise in the morning. While I was on Quay Street I heard the thud caused by a car coming out from a hotel car park knocking a cyclist off his bike. As it was behing me I didn't see what happened, only the result. A cyclist rolling on the ground and cursing fluently and loudly, before standing to continue his stream of vitriol. However, he was fortunate. No head injury. Nothing to suggest broken bones, although one wrist was painful. His knees and shins were badly grazed. Nothing wrong with his lungs or his voice! Ambulance was called and he was supported by numerous others; the motorist stayed inside the car.

Memo to self: look both ways many times, and expect the unexpected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.