Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flutter-byes

While the recent hot, humid weather doesn't particularly agree with this human (me), it definitely agrees with all the insects in the garden.  In general, this has been a terrible summer for butterflies in this area, but today I had a big fresh Tiger Swallowtail as well as several of the smaller little Silver-spotted Skippers.  I decided to go with this shot (heavily cropped though it is) just because I like the contrast of the skipper against the dark pink phlox.  

I've just ordered a bumble bee field guide from Amazon as I am keen to identify the bumble bees in my garden this year.  I believe I have at least 4 distinct species, but I need to really study them further to be sure.  So, may as well add to my burgeoning geek-library of insect and bird field guides.

One of the young red-bellied woodpeckers flew into the living room window today, but seems to be unscathed by the experience. He corrected course and flew up into the trees.  Not uncommon to have young birds hit the house and/or windows this time of year and usually no harm is done.  

It looks like the heat and humidity is going to continue for the next few days so I am probably not going to meet up with my friend for our weekly "field trip" tomorrow.  Hopefully the humidity will drop by next week.  It's oppressive, especially on top of temps around 90 F.  And, yes, I know that in February, I'll be longing for this weather.

Stay safe, people.  Be kind and loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.