Elgin Cathedral

TT and I were both up early.  He to pack and do a few things in the garden, me to finish packing and finish off some work, which I did over the course of the morning.  In addition I also had the job of nagging BB to pack his bag and get himself organised.  TT also had to go and help at church. For a couple of hours
After what felt like a busy morning, I eventually turned my laptop off, we packed the car and we headed off on our first long journey since before lockdown.  The roads were really busy and we took bad, with TT commenting that it felt really weird driving on busy roads.  We got stuck at the Queensferry Crossing an then on the A9, not far from Perth.  We stopped at Blair Atholl in hope of a late lunch, but the café had already closed.  Instead we bought a few things from the shop and had a wee picnic.  We didn’t stop for long and continued up the A9, then cut off to head up through Speyside, with TT eyeing up the many distilleries en route.  I enjoyed the journey and felt that having finished a few things off this morning, I could really switch off from work.  It was a good feeling.
We arrived at our destination – a comfortable apartment in Elgin.  We left BB to make himself at home, while TT and I headed to get some supplies and fish and chips for tea.
After tea, the boys chilled and I went for a  lovely evening wander in the park on our doorstep and around by the ruined cathedral and the biblical garden.  It was then home for the final two episodes of Spiral series 5 – which we have both really enjoyed – tres dtramatique!.  Let the holiday begin!
Elgin Cathedral is currently closed, and the site is delightfully overgrown and looking lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.