Totnes

We have discovered that Devon is mostly closed on a sunday. We drove to Ashburton which we found a leaflet for in the campsite. It has lots of antique shops. But everywhere was closed. What we were searching for was a shop where we could buy an OS map. So we didn't stop there, and drove on to Totnes. I have fond memories of Totnes as a child. We stayed on a farm nearby for two years when I was about 10, and I remembered Totnes as a town on a steep hill, with coloured bunting, and a town crier. When we got there, it seems like it has definitely shrunk....or I've grown!! A narrow street, but still a hill. We found a cafe that was open, had coffee and cakes, and then wandered down the high street into all shops that were open, and obviously spent money in all of those! We got maps of the area so can now plan the rest of our holiday. Dartmoor, country parks, and waterfalls are all on the list, but we think we are heading to Exeter tomorrow as the weather forecast is very wet!

The afternoon has been spent at the campsite relaxing. I finished my book, finished a bit of knitting I've been doing and had a sleep.

Looking forward to more of the above in the coming days...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.