Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Rough

Wednesday didn't start well. I telephoned the car showroom where I bought my new car to get an update on its delivery, and let's just say it didn't go as expected. They said they would phone me back with further information and I am (typing this 24 hours later) still waiting to hear from them. Ho hum! Watch this space.

However, the rest of the day went well. I had already planned to take a longer walk than has been the case recently and go to Rough Castle in Bonnybridge. It's another part of the Antonine Wall, complete with ditch (main photo), the visible outline of a Roman fort and defensive pit traps known as lilia. It's a common walk for our Ramblers group when we did such things, but I hadn't been over there for a while.

I continued my walk beyond the Rough Castle site and ended up once more at the Falkirk Wheel. A stop for coffee then back along the Canal to Bonnybridge, where I popped into the shops for a couple of things. A check of my watch suggested that a bus home was due in five or ten minutes, so I took that rather than walk another 2-3km. I reckon my 12km walk to that point was enough for one day.

I've added an extra of a Historic Scotland notice at one of the entrances to Rough Castle. It amuses me every time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.