Thursday's painting...

... My painting for today,. An abstract of what is in front of me.


A trying morning. Communication problems where people expect me to telephone despite them knowing I am deaf, and cannot use the phone. It was to arrange some medical appointments and investigations I normally have this time of year, but with coronavirus I had no idea what was happening. So I just turned up to ask at the health centre. I was masked. Other parts of it appeared to be operating as normal, apart from screens. But my GP Practice was barricaded at the entrance bit with chairs piled on top of each other like some crazy tower. The grille bars were down to the counter. I couldn't see anyone. There were some weird notices saying you needed to use your app (what app?? I haven't had any information from the GP surgery about this new way of getting to see them) to say you are there and some one will come to let you in.

So I tried to squeeze in through the side of the chairs, and then this woman starts shouting at me from behind the grill motioning me to go away, and telephone. I tried to explain I was deaf and was unable to telephone.But she just got angrier. So I just stood there. In the end she came charging round the grille ranting and raving at me. Telling me to go away, and to use the telephone.

I explained again I was deaf, couldn't hear on the telephone, and I had no one to phone for me. She appeared to understand. And I showed her my repeat prescription, where on the last page it asks me to make an appointment for my investigations etc at my GP Surgery which was here. You need to telephone she said. I pointed to my deaf badge and explained again I cannot hear on the telephone.

Finally she understood. I will make the appointments for you, but it will take half an hour, wait there.

There were no chairs to sit on, they were piled in a tower, and if I had tried to move one, the whole lot would have come tumbling down. So, I am standing, my hips hurt, I am on my crutches. I try leaning against the wall, the railings, and I am dying for a wee, but the toilet doors are taped shut, telling you that you cannot go to the toilet.

Finally the lady came out. And I have two appointments now one after the other on the same day in September. There should have been a third appointment, but if I had spent any longer in the surgery, there would have been a spreading puddle on the floor.

She is sending me a pdf, which apparently I should have been sent. So I gave her my email address again. It is on their files.

I did try emailing them awhile ago, but I got this email message to say they didn't respond very quickly to email and to telephone....????

I have just realised I am never going to last the time needed for those two appointments without a toilet. Oh well, I will just wear a long skirt that day and no ........, and if the toilets are not open by then, I shall be going back to my car, between appointments, and pretend to check I have locked it....

I am not in any mood for any calming Zen work today...

This is an abstract sketching what is in front of my eyes....
Normal service will be resumed tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.