There's more

I dashed up the allotment this evening to cut these gladioli as there is a possibility of a shower or 2 & as these are the first time of growing, plus the first time I've had a vase to display them in I wanted them to be perfect. The strong vibrant purple & red are very regal. The purple ones, the name of which escapes me right now, are nearly 4' in length. Would they be suitable for showing???? I have no idea .... It's the taking part that counts for me. I love the traditional village produce/ flower shows, once gone they never return so it's important to support these events. They're in a vase now, but I still prefer them  like this, for photographing anyway although the colour is not quite accurate. Hey ho!
41/2 hours gardening with George & Jean this morning, so well entertained as I worked.
Back home, lunch, then I tackled the ironing pile, followed by a quick spin on the sewing machine. I bought a pair of linen shorts on the Tesco bargain rail last week. A quick tweak & done!
Then up to the allotment .. gladioli, 5 courgettes, & a handful of carrots. Home again .. arrange the gladioli then make dinner. Toad in the hole, made with a plain flour batter (success) eaten with homegrown spuds, carrots, runner beans onion & fresh herb gravy.
Followed by Gardener's World .................... I managed to stay awake for the full hour this week. LOL!!

Thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.