Sheep in the meadow...

Nice to catch up with Jacqui this morning, when she came to fetch her shopping. While we sat outside and enjoyed a coffee, Fletch took himself upstairs to the living room, where it was a little cooler, and made himself at home on the sofa.

Then a Friday afternoon walk up to Blackhaggs Rigg from the College Valley was the intention, and we set off just after lunch.
In my younger days I used to love the heat, but now it just seems to sap my energy. Today it was hot, don't know exactly how hot, but it was a scorcher, and even the wind was outrageously warm - too hot for serious walking, anyway. Beginning to doubt that I'd reach the top by the time we reached the bottom of the hill (a 3km road walk from the car park), and when we were almost in reach of the hill fort part-way up, felt as though I'd climbed Everest! Decided that discretion is the better part of valour, as they say, and after sharing some cherries with MrM, made my way down, while he continued on to the top. Such a relief to take off my boots on getting back to the car!

The extra is a view of The Cheviot from the highest point I reached.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.