Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

AOG - Day 3

Day 3 of the Alternative Olympic Games broke sunny here in New Jersey so your intrepid reporter decided to visit one of the auxiliary stadiums in the area.  A light wind made some of the competitors a little edgy, not to mention being hard to photograph.  However, I was delighted when I found a member of Team Dogbane Beetle who was willing to give me an exclusive interview.

Me:  So, tell me, who do you like for the Speed Pollinating Events?
DBB:  Well, you know I don't like the wasps so I'm going to have to put my money on Team Hoverfly or Team Butterfly.  
Me:  Why don't you like the wasps, pray tell?
DBB:  Nasty things.  They are forever carrying off helpless little larvae and even sometimes fully grown katydids.  Not that I much like the Katydids, mind you, cuz they sometimes try to eat my dogbane plants!
Me:  Well, how do you feel about the various Bee Teams?
DBB:  As long as they stay away from my dogbane leaves and roots, I'm okay with them.  But don't get me started on the Murder Hornets!
Me:  Well, you know that we don't have Murder Hornets here in the eastern US, right?
DBB:  Hmph.  That's what YOU think!  
And then he opened up his shiny wings and left, in a bit of a huff.

Back in Pollinator Stadium here at home, things are buzzing as all the competitors stock up in advance of the storm that is due to hit the area tomorrow.  They've all said they won't be coming out until its over.  Well, except for Team Hummie who said "its gonna take more that a measly little storm to keep us down!"  They are always full of tough talk, as you know.

Today's AOG reports can be seen HERE - and if you have not yet joined in the fun, what are you waiting for?  Tomorrow's tag is #ttaog20204.  

New Jersey's Covid numbers are creeping up with our RT rate up to 1.48% from a low of 0.80% about a month ago.  Most of this is attributed to large indoor gatherings of primarily young people.  I feel like we are engaged in a global game of Virus Whack-a-mole.

Be safe, people.  And be kind and loving.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.