F-Eid me

More than one person has now mentioned my quiff, which is apparently noteworthy in both person and through a laptop screen. I checked myself after one comment received on a video call and realised I do resemble the crown of a pineapple.

A lovely Eid gift in the morning, from one of the Syrian families involved in the refugee support charity I was a trustee of when I last lived in Cambridge. Samir and Eliane, two fellow volunteers who are simply the loveliest humans, facilitated a tray of sweet treats being delivered, made by one of the family members who is a professional baker. It nestled nicely in between calculators and notebooks, and was harvested gradually through the day.

I’m fairly glued to the coverage of the aftermath of the Beirut explosion. The video of the old lady in her damaged living room playing Auld Lang Syne on the piano is very moving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.