Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

Diddly-do-dar-day

Here is a beautiful hand-drawn picture of DM by DM. As part of her school work DM has to read at home and we complete a reading chart. If she completes her reading chart at the end of term she receives a prize. This term prize was some colourful scratch cards that she instantly wanted to draw on - she loved them!!

I think it's fabulous that she's drawn herself thinking about love, her mind is so creative and she loves to write or draw.

Today has been a fabulous day and I'm back to full positivity :o). It truly is amazing how life can shift with the change of mind and attitude!

DM had her class assembly this morning and they all did really well. Watching the children get excited to see friends or family in their school hall to watch their assembly was priceless. R&P were very excited to be in DM's school, just as much as DM was to have us there. She read her lines really well and came bounding over to give us cuddles & kisses after the assembly. Fortunately I took Aj's milk with me and she sat quietly throughout the main assembly and happily applauded everyone at the end of the assembly.

Getting R&P out of the school was a lot harder than getting them in. Rubes was not happy to be leaving DM at school; whilst she wanted to go to Mumstop, she also wanted DM to come.

We had a lovely time at Mumstop, R&P did some craftwork and Aj stood unaided for a couple of seconds. She startled herself when she realised that I wasn't holding her. After her afternoon nap, we spent a while encouraging her to do more standing unaided and she loved it. She holds her arms up in the air and tries to bounce, it's very funny to watch.

Rubes had a grump when leaving Mumstop as she didn't want to carry her craftwork, but neither did she want to leave it at Mumstop. I couldn't carry it as I already had Aj on my back and was holding R&P's hand on the way home. After a little talk, some grumps and a bit of negotiation, Rubes convinced Pops to carry both pictures, which she did without a complaint. As a reward for Pops being kind, I treated her to a pack of yoghurts that she could share with R&Aj.

When we left the shop, both R&P wanted to carry the yoghurts and not the pictures. Again, I couldn't add the pictures to the backpack as Aj was now asleep on my back and so needed them to carry the pictures. It ended up that I had to calmly and patiently negotiate between two 3 year old toddlers. Now, I hear you saying give Rubes the yoghurts & Pops the pictures. It may sound daft, but I couldn't give Rubes the yoghurts as they are a treat for Pops and she would have been upset at Rubes getting Pops's treat. I carried the yoghurts in my side pocket and convinced Pops to carry the pictures. The lady behind the till was giggling at me & the girls as she had watched and listened to me constantly talking to them since the "negotiating" started at the back of the shop. Rubes demanding the yoghurts and not wanting the pictures, Pops wanting the yoghurts, whilst "oooooo, look, there's a touch screen near the tills and it's my computer". Honestly, if I could have an outer body experience, that's one of the moments I would've have picked. We finally left the shop with R&P holding my hands, Pops carrying the pictures and the yoghurts in my side pocket. Those two certainly do test my mediation skills.

Pops made me chuckle on the way home from the shops; as she walked she turned to me and said "you're very kind Mummy", I replied and said "Thank you Pops, and you're a good girl and very helpful", to which Pops naturally and quickly responded with "Ruby not, she a grumpy bum" ~ whoops out of the mouth of babes ;o)

We had lunch, I got Aj down for her nap and set R&P up to watch Dumbo. After 30 mins they were both fast asleep.

The day had been topped off with an evening of tea and chocolate with a very dear friend.

A great start to a family filled fun weekend. :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.