If My Heart Had Wings

Or no, wait, maybe it's . . . if my wings had HEARTS!  :-)

My husband hollered for me to come out and see the butterflies, and so I did. And there were indeed two monarchs swooping and diving around the milkweed. As I watched them and took pictures, I got the feeling that they were new to flight, and I wondered if they might be our own first brand-new homegrown monarchs! We have indeed spotted some really large caterpillars lately. And perhaps it was a pair of those, after the big change, showing off their stuff.

I did giggle to myself, thinking about how almost goofy and uncoordinated they looked. And I pondered: What would it be like if you were a great big caterpillar crawling around, who suddenly . . . grew WINGS???  Worms of wonder, baby. Worms of wonder! You crawl . . . and then suddenly . . . you FLY!!! (You may see one of our brand new monarchs, airing out its marvelous wings, in the extras.)

Earlier this week, we spotted a new plant in our yard. It is a thistle, and it has beautiful pinkish-purple blooms. As I was photographing the monarchs, a male black swallowtail showed up and drank heavily from a thistle bloom. I sat in a chair and was able to get some great shots. Do you see the hearts on its wings? And the spotted pajamas? What a fancy bug!!!

My soundtrack song includes the line, "All of us have wings, but some of us don't know why." It's INXS, with Never Tear Us Apart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.