Thunderbirds and Lightning (very very fun)

After two days full of lovely visitors and with dreadful weather predicted it seemed a good day to ride Morrigan up to North Wales and do a slightly late birthday visit.

The trip up was fine, and the visit too of course. Watching the skies I left mid afternoon for the ride back, in order to avoid the oncoming storm. But, being me, I, um, missed my turn and ended up enjoying the middle of Wales... see log pic right.

When it rained, it didn't pitter patter. Visibility went down to almost zero and I went down to about 30mph... The roads quickly flooded, and what appeared to be a slightly strange and untextured road turned into a two foot deep lake - which was fun. 

Morrigan laughed and pressed on without even noticing. My boots filled with muddy brown rainwater. And then the lightning... wow! But the odd thing was I couldn't hear it... Morrigan is after all a Thunderbird, and no forking lightning is going to outdo her roar...

But I made it home after just over 400 miles. I shall be on bike cleaning duty tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.