Capital adventures

By marchmont

Lights

It has been a week of lights: the Festival searchlights, last night nature's contribution of spectacular sheet lightning and tonight, as I looked out at bedtime, it was the huge flare across the water at Mossmorran that lit up the sky. The red is the lights on the cranes still adorning the new St James Centre.

But today was the aftermath of the storm: planes diverted to Prestwick, flooding and rescues in Fife, more extreme flooding in parts of Edinburgh and Stonehaven and worst of all the train derailment in Aberdeenshire. I know that stretch of line well, away from the road and very little phone signal. By the end of the day we knew there were 3 fatalities. So sad.

My day was busy and long, book-ended by College meetings with 3 Zoom meetings as the jam in the sandwich. Outside it was hot, humid and sunny. I did get out, the PO at lunchtime and then round the block after work. I'd had a sleepless night and my back was aching. Too much sitting slouched over a PC. Walking helped relieve it a bit but switching off my mind was more of a challenge.

Once back I sat out the front, read my book and watched a beautiful sunset but no Perseids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.