Capital adventures

By marchmont

Stop the world

An end of the day shot of Willow which pretty much sums up how I feel.

The day started well after a good night's sleep and then a fine swim, though the mornings are definitely chillier. I also made a decision on J's 'interesting proposition' - Mum and me to have 10 days in the Ardèche courtesy of a free lift from Marseille airport. But after that the day spiralled downwards.

Four things to do: take blood for my Zoe antibody test, some more work on the bid budgets, book flights and lastly meet new Board member S for coffee.

The first just never got done. That is put back to tomorrow so it doesn't sit all night in a post box.

The budget work got done in tandem with French prep and by lunchtime (when I shut the PC) I'd made good progress. I will look at it again with fresh eyes after a couple of days.

French prep hit a buffer when I entered the mire of passport validity regulations. When I got my passport in the spring the UK Gov't checker was unequivocal: I needed a new passport for the EU. It's been updated and now came back that it 'recommended' a new passport for Mum. Her one expires next spring but she'd had 4 months added from the issue date to give 10 years from previous expiry date, a concession we no longer get.

This discovery was followed by much to and froing with J while I worked. The consensus by the time I headed to Mortonhall to meet S was a new one was needed, requiring a trip to Glasgow. Luckily appointments are available the last week in August.

After coffee and a long chat (but no cake) with S about various things relating to Apex I went to Straiton to buy the light from Dunelm and the M&S to buy things to take on Saturday, and wine. It was windy and showery.

Once home more toing and froing with J and a long time on hold to the Passport Office. But we decided to play safe and go for the new passport. Next step was to book the flights as we have to be on the same plane to Marseille as the couple with the car. J talked me through the process of booking with all the assistance levels for the 96 year old. When did I last book flights with Ryanair?

Then to arrange the passport, only to discover you can't confirm the appointment (and the Friday one had already gone) without the photo. Phoned Mum to let her know we'll be doing photography in the morning.

By that time I was shattered but a good feel good French film on Netflix, 'The African Doctor' helped my perspective. Funny and sad in parts and based on a true story.

And finally a peek at the hiding Willow and bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.