Capital adventures

By marchmont

Beethoven -4

I watered the front, before the sun became too strong.  I worried about Olivia's roses.  Then a trip to Bonnyrig to deliver presents.  i was going to bike but decided against as I wasn't sure it would be good for the cough, it might be too busy and too hot - and I ran out of time.

It was good to see M and the kids, J and E.  They are both very grown up as it's over a year since I have seen them.

Home to lunch in the garden and some more lying in the sun before going back to the EICC for Keir Starmer.  I big audience.  I found it very passionate, a bit manic (just back from holiday) but somehow uninspiring. 

Then a marathon journey home.  Unlike Wednesday I just missed a 47 and then it took an hour to get home from the West End on a full bus.  Lothianbuses must be pleased but it is not a great passenger experience.

We are about to apy for the heat.  The haar was alr4eady beginning to roll in as I travelled home and by 8.30 Arthur's Seat had disappeared and of course the temperature had dropped.  It also put paid to the Red Arrows.  Shame, last night was so much better. 'You shouldn't have been here yesterday'.

The cough remains with me.  It struck, viciously, half way through Sir Keir.  Trying not to cough is so much more difficult than coughing. 

Unlike Wednesday, when I was in my KL uniform, shorts and a T-shirt, today it was a skirt and a T-shirt. 

An unexpected e-mail from EIF: the good news, it reminded me I'd booked an Usher Hall concert, not in my diary; the bad news, due to differering Covid protocols Beethoven's 9th is being replaced with the 5th.  No option to cancel, just to rearrange.  I guess I'm stuck with  Beethoven -4.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.