Capital adventures

By marchmont

High Summer

Weatherwise there was nothing much to remark about today - wall to wall sunshine, blue skies and about 28 deg all day.

I was off early (for me) to le coiffeur.  The bus was slow as it traversed through B&B land but quieter on the way home, though air conditioning would have been a bonus. The sunflower was cheering up the bench at Roseburn.

I spent pretty much the whole afternoon on the lounger. Mid afternoon I remembered that I had a show at 6.35 so back on the buses.  I also had my '3 month', delayed by 14 months, check up with James May, by telephone of course.

The show, 'Music, Mayhem and Mezzo', was cabaret with Juliette Pochin a trained opera singer and her partner.  It was very good with a small, but enthusiastic audience. Juliette put new words to familiar tunes: Carme for 'Me Too' and a post colonial' 'Rule Britannia'.  I think she should send that to the BBC. The biggest plus was the air conditioned venue. The guitarist entertaining the bar outside the Radisson Blu was also good.  I seemed to know all the words.

Home again and sat in the front with my book and a glass of rose.  Couldn't be bothered cooking so it was cheese sandwiches.  K joined me as the sun went down.  Her house refurb is taking a long time. By the time she left I was back coughing and my voice had gone.  This cold is no joke.

Before bed I caught up on last night's ep1 of 'Shetland'.  A lot of very scenic shots.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.