Capital adventures

By marchmont

Stress and storm

Needless to say after yesterday's ups and downs I did not sleep well: 2 hours in the middle of the night reading the advice on various websites about what your passport needs to show to get you into France. By 5 I'd decided the current one was ok.

Last swim of the week, the pool was very quiet, and then home to await a confab with J. I'd sent her the links but Friday is market day. Filled in the time with a call to #2 son about his house woes. I also managed, finally, to speak to someone in the Passport Office who was unhelpful (apparently it's Immigration I should speak to). All he could say was passport expires in December,though that's not what it says on the page. Although we still think the offending document is legal we decided to stick with the 'play it safe' decision. Don't want to be denied boarding at EDI by some over zealous functionary.

But before I headed to the Manor I collected the blood for the test, then nearly forgot to put the vial in the return envelope, and had a call with J from BB about the care issues.

I'm sad about Afghanistan. #1 son had two tours there and was part of the mission to train up the ANA. Luckily he came back safe but what must those who were injured or who lost family members think? And there are strong echoes of Vietnam.

But back to the task of the day. Taking the photos was a nightmare. Mum has few white walls and the light in the flat isn't very good not helped by a mainly cloudy day. After 4 failed attempts, luckily the website informs you of failure, we headed to Cameron Toll only to discover those machines don't give the necessary code. Straiton was the next stop but I decided we'd try at mine first, white walls, lots of natural light. And, drumroll, that worked. So the application is done, the considerable fee is paid (admin, Mum's passport is free) and the appointment for 30th booked. Luckily I can collect on her behalf. Phew!

Once back at the Manor I ordered the vaccination records from a very helpful person, young man? But the other paperwork we need; boarding passes, French Covid honour statements, applying for French digital Covid passes and ordering PCR tests for our return will have to wait till we have the vax records, and the new passport. J confirmed we can get our return antigen tests from the infirmière in the village. Must find our 'EHIC' cards too. (Brexit has a lot to answer for).

So I was much more relaxed when, after phoning A to tell her I'll be away when they are in Edinburgh, I dashed into town to meet another new Board member, J from the College, at the Scottish Café. This time I did have cake. And I'm so glad A realised her Edinburgh weekend is next weekend. Means I don't have to plan a Sunday lunch. I thought about staying in town but it was very, very windy, though the rain had stopped.

But I still couldn't switch off when I got home so went to fill up the petrol tank for tomorrow. The most expensive tankful of fuel I've had in years. Also bought an Aldi Jalfrezi, the easy option.

Later, after 'Gardeners' World' I fell asleep in front of another French film on Netflix. I'm trying not to stress about all the things that need done before 3 September. I'm so out of practice of travelling far, esp travelling to Europe with it's different plugs and things.

And in Willow news, she's lost her collar, again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.