Capital adventures

By marchmont

5 'counties' in an afternoon

After yesterday's shenanigans I had a restful, lying in bed till after 9, catching up on blip and hearing that travel PCR tests are cheaper.

Had a couple of forays in the morning: the PO to post Olivia's cards and collect an Amazon parcel and Margiotta for lunch.

Then today's outing off down the Lang Whang (Edinburgh, W Lothian, S Lanarkshire) to visit a family friend. They live almost on a farm in ear Carnwath. Big skies.

Mum was pleased to be there and we spent a pleasant chatty afternoon. I couldn't remember the last night I spoke to L and I've only seen her husband once, 51 years ago when I stood outside the church in Trinity on their wedding day. They have had an interesting life working for the British Council across the globe. They were evacuated from Port Stanley in '82 (captured on the TV news) and had to be wary of drugs barons in Colombia. The Seychelles sounded like a good posting though.

While I was there the text with my antibody test result came through. I only posted the blood yesterday, very impressive. And, surprise, surprise it's v unlikely I've had Covid in the last 6 months so given all 3 antibody tests since May '20 are negative I think I can assume I have never had Covid-19. Well I never thought I did anyway.

We had very heavy rain on the way there around Harperrig but it seemed to be fairly localised and it was a lovely drive home in the evening sun via Libberton and Biggar. That part of the Scottish Borders is beautiful.

Stopped at the Allan Ramsay in Carlops for something to eat. They are struggling for staff. It was nearly 9 by the time we drove via Straiton, Midlothian, and I dropped Mum off at the Manor. Wednesday is the next outing.

Came home to watch more French drama. A Harlen Coben adaptation this time. I'd already worked out the dead body wasn't the missing girlfriend.

Still got the choir risk assessments to peruse. That will have to wait till tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.