Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Essentials

I woke early today despite a very late night.

The day started with the OaSis bible study which was really good. We're a small group and everyone interacts. We went straight into a Zoom call with Rachel. Couldn't stay on long though as we had to have lunch before I had another bible study, this time with my old youth group.

I have no idea why, but GMT is not referred to as GMT anymore. It is now called UTC. The reason for the mention is because the time for the SYF study was given as UTC. I misread it so logged in an hour early, right in the middle of the 75th  anniversary of the VJ Day ceremony. At least I was able to return to the live broadcast. These events are so solemn and well-executed. Art Malik did a fantastic job as MC.

The second study was more serious. It was about Elijah fleeing to Mount Horeb. I'm surprised at how much I am enjoying doing these studies with people I've known for so long, or rather the people that I started my spiritual journey with.

The rest of the afternoon was spent getting the place ready for Nara's return tomorrow! I cleared the ironing and put things away in my room. It's amazing how much stuff accumulates in a short time.

My picture is of a bag of gold that G came across by accident. There's a bit of a story here. We like PG Tips teabags but they sell at a ridiculous price here (£6 for a box of 80), so we always bring back hundreds of teabags to last until we return to the UK. We didn't at Christmas, so our friends Bob & Celia carried 800 teabags out in January when they visited. Eileen (rachelwhynot) bought and bagged them for us. I thought the last bag finished a month ago, and then G found this, so we are over the moon! :)) Thank you, Eileen, for your careful packing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.