An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Twenty-four today!

Backblipped 16.08.20

So annoyed with myself that I am backblipping Alan's birthday blip but we lost wifi last night and it wouldn't even let me use my phone as a hotspot.  Hey ho.  Better late than never.

So today this young man of mine turned 24.  I know I say this every year, but I literally cannot believe it.  How can 24 years have passed from his eventful birth?!

Twenty-four rollercoaster years with huge ups, deep downs, and lots and lots of love and laughter.

Thankfully, since Alan had the emergency ileostomy at the end of 2016, which in effect cured his ulcerative colitis that had plagued him from the age of 11, his health has never been better and his enjoyment of life never been so good.  This in turn makes for a very happy mum because we all know that mums (and dad) are only ever as happy as their least happy child :-))

The surgery released him from the horrendous pain of flare ups and the unrelenting fatigue and general un-wellness between flare ups.  He always was a stalwart and a trouper but now it is so wonderful that he doesn't have to be.

He spent his birthday out and about with Ashleigh, which he loves.  Always cool to be seen out with a very attractive girl.  Then in the evening he opened his cards and gifts with Kirsten (I offered but was refused!  lol)  

We did spend some lovely family time together where (see extra) where we reminisced about birthdays past and I remembered a song my gran used to sing to him so gave him a few verses of that...his reaction is my main blip :-)

David and I had a fairly lazy day recovering from yesterday's festivities, but mainly in a daze wondering how on earth we can have a son who is 24 where we're barely into our thirties ourselves!!!  Hahahahaha...well that's how it feels! 

And I have such distinct memories of driving to work in the mornings, heavily pregnant, listening to the Radio 1 breakfast show with Chris Evans, and this song being played all the time, whilst the little being inside tried to kick his way to freedom :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.