An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Quarter of a Century!

Today is Alan's 25th birthday.  TWENTY -FIVE!!!  No, that can't be right!  As I stated on my 32nd wedding anniversary earlier this month, how can that be when I am only 34?!!  Someone's got the maths wrong somewhere!

I had intended to get a proper portrait to celebrate this momentous occasion but of course the day just ran away with me.

Our friend T came to do his physio exercises in the pool.  He's managed to damage some of his leg and back muscles but doesn't know how (I declined to suggest golf :-))  While he was in the pool, we wished Alan a happy birthday and opened his cards and pressies.  He used to hate doing that (not happy being the centre of attention) but now he loves it!  It's so wonderful!  He even let us sing Happy Birthday and blow those daft party toot things :-))

We had a list of suggestions to how he might like to celebrate his special day, including all his favourite activities and places to go and he vetoed them all, but it was clear he had something in mind.  Eventually I took a stab in the dark and hit the jackpot...he wanted to go to Ikea!  hahahahahaha!  What a cheap date he is!

Tom headed home, Linda came to cut my hair and just as she started, Grandpa and Norma arrived to wish him Happy Birthday too.  He was delighted to see them.  

After coffee and cake, John and Norma headed off and we headed to Ikea.  I can't remember the last time I was there.

We had a wander round (as you do)  I wondered if there was something in particular he had in mind to buy, but nope, he just wanted to wander round then go to the cafe.  It was actually quite good as it gave me a chance to look at tables and possible storage solutions for the garage conversion.

After partaking of some tasteless sustenance at the cafe, we headed home without buying tea lights or kitchen gadgets!  A first! :-))  I did buy some picture frames though.  Well, would be rude not to! :-)

And so that was how Alan chose to mark is 25th birthday.  And given his traumatic start in life, I am more than happy with that! :-))


Lola :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.