Raincoat and a Rose

A dull day here today with some brief showers and thunder rumbling round in the distance at lunchtime, so I just popped out to take a photo of the 2nd flowering of my rose. Up the road 7 miles at Sheringham they had a torrential downpour, some flooding and three sinkholes have opened up, two on a key coast road. Heavy rain has just started here at 8pm.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgtqG5wLnQM

I watched a good film today I'd recorded called The King's Choice, about 3 key days in 1940 in Norway and an ultimatum presented to the King by the Nazis. It was subtitled, which I normally avoid, but I it didn't detract from a very interesting film. 

Day 154 / Full Day 146 of Lockdown / Day 44 of Step 3 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 5 to 41,366 (revised basis), with new daily cases up by 1,040 (the 6th day in a row of being over 1k). Deaths in India passed 50,000 yesterday. Italy is making the wearing of face coverings mandatory in public places and has ordered dance halls and nightclubs to close due to rising cases. Local restrictions have been introduced in Greece. Ofqual suspended the policy for A level appeals shortly after publication last night and there are increasing demands to revert to the original teacher assessed grades, although University places have already been lost. I must admit, I assumed moderation would mean going back to the school weeks ago if they submitted materially higher grades than achieved before, so they could justify it or think again, not that the students would have to appeal. What a mess and I can't see the Education Secretary keeping his job. It looks like Public Health England will be replaced soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.