If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Herdwick Gimmer

Saturday, so prepping the Lodge.   As I wander along to the bins and the recycling I always take my camera as there is often something to blip.  Today I decided to add to my recent ramblings and blip this Herdwick Gimmer.

So let's begin with why I say Herdwick Gimmer.  Clearly a Herwick the coarse wool and head shape tell us that.  A gimmer, a sheep before it lambs for the first time.   The way the dark coat is lightening tells us that this individual is about a year old.  Born black the face turns white first and then the fleece gets lighter with progressive age.

Herwicks are native to the central and western Lake District fells.   They are our hardiest breed spending virtually all year out on the open fell. 

 They are unlike any other UK sheep breed.  Two suggestions are put forward as to their origin.  On is they swam ashore from sinking Spanish ships when the Armarmada had to flee round the north coast and back down the west coast.  To me doubtful most sheep I have come across have the swimming abilities of a house brick after a very short distance.  The other is they are descended from stock brought by viking invaders who settled here.  Cumbria is full of places with viking connections, all places ending in by or thwaite are of viking origin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.