Today is not a Bowl of Cherries

Edinburgh in August welcomes in inimitable style all staycationers who made the rash decision to have their summer holiday in the Athens of the North. I bet they are regretting it about as much as any locals who took another unwise decision to soak up the sun in Spain and France and now find themselves quarantined looking out on a sea of mist and general misery. Today is the “pits”.

I was very lucky to walk down and back with baking to Maggie’s before the rain began, but got caught in a deluge when I went to the post office later. At least it’s warmish rain, not that the relatively warm air stops my glasses from misting up when I have my pesky mask on. I’m at my wits end trying to avoid being totally blind. I’ve done the detergent and the tissue tricks but I still can’t see out of my glasses. Wearing a mask is the the best disincentive known to man/woman who wear glasses and even more so if he/she also wears hearing aids, to window shopping or browsing large shops.

And so another day holed up in the house has produced a successful birthday cake and shortened jeans. The latter were marked ‘short’ but were still at least 6” to long. I know my legs are length challenged, but still........

the Bowl of Cherries is my extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.