Weather Split

What a weather transformation we’ve had today. I would never have guessed when I looked out of the window this morning to see a damp cloying haar obscuring even the trees, that at 3 pm I would be sitting outside on the patio in what might just about me called sun, although there is a distinct thundery feeling to things.

With a second successful birthday cake nestling in its box, I walked down into town to hand it over to the birthday boy manning the gallery with daughter#1 while the owner is on holiday.

I was surprised to see the Royal Mile busy with tourists- the busiest I’ve seen it this year. Given that they were all happed up in raincoats and wet weather gear, they managed to look quite chipper.
Usually during the summer there could be several artists drawing portraits of willing subjects but my blip was of the only one in operation.

Sitting here watching the world go by on the other side of the railings I have made several observations. There have been fewer kick abouts this summer for whatever reason and no cricket matches . Perhaps the protagonists were the now absent students, or are otherwise engaged in walking their lockdown must have dogs, or are on bicycles racing up and down the pedestrian paths or on speedy skateboards.
For a while it was trendy to cycle at speed with hands in pockets rather than on the handlebars, now it’s to see how long they can do a ‘wheelie’ without coming back onto two wheels. I have a certain admiration for both feats which elude me.

I feel a breeze making an entrance to the patio. Perhaps the forecast of more rain and thundershowers will happen sooner rather than later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.