North Ronaldsay Orkney -Day 18

Despite all the warnings that today’s sailing to North Ronaldsay might not take place because of the weather, it did happen and there was hardly a rock and roll for all the 6 hours I spent on board.

IainatCreel very kindly ran me through to Kirkwall in time for the 9am sailing, and I was picked up at North Ronaldsay by my schoolfriend’s husband and deposited in her kitchen at noon. Unbelievably we had 4 hours of blether before I was returned to the ferry at 4pm having seen little of the island, not one sheep on the beach behind the famous wall or the ewes allowed out to lamb in the fields. I have seen more on previous visits so I didn’t feel short changed at all.
My blip shows the method of car transportation to North Ronaldsay. The same method is used for cattle, one at a time. Apparently it all gets very dramatic when there’s a high wind..... it’s not difficult to imagine.

The only fly in the ointment was the hour and a half wait in Kirkwall to get the last bus back to Stromness - Sunday is not the best day of the week to travel these islands.
It was a long day but such an enjoyable one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.