The fine print

Last week I was summoned for jury duty, and today I got the notice that I've been excused for health reasons (Covid-19 risk.)  This is the fourth time I've been summoned and yet I've never been a juror.  The first time I was put on a panel for a trial, but eliminated as soon as they found out that I was a psychologist.  The second time I wasn't needed,  The third time I was excused because of mobility issues.

What is difficult about this is that I firmly believe that participation as a juror is every citizen's right and responsibility.  I would very much have liked to serve.  I had hoped this time around that the trial might be held virtually, as they are doing virtual interviews for prospective jurors.  But the trial I was called for is in person at a courthouse nearly thirty miles from my home (King County Court, rather than Seattle City Court.)  So I feel a measure of relief and real disappointment as well.

Tomorrow is Twinsday and I can't wait to see the boys, having missed a visit.  Maybe I will be able to read their book to them.  I loved reading books to Manda and Sarah when they were little, some of the happiest times of my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.