THE HILLS ARE ALIVE...................

................with peace and quiet actually

This morning I just wanted a run out in the car.  Really I'd like a walk but Hubby can't/won't at the moment so I will wait, but persuade him to go out next month.

I also wanted to go somewhere quiet.  I haven't been up on Orton Fells this year so that's where I headed.  I didn't stop in Orton because Orton Scar Cafe was very busy with cyclists and walkers and the town looked pretty busy too.  I then headed on down to a little Hamlet called Crosby Ravensworth.  I stopped off at various points on the way down to this lovely little place - waved to and said good luck to a small group of cyclists only about 5 of of them.  

For some reason I didn't stop in Crosby Ravensworth, I really don't know why but I just didn't.  I just turned round, went back to Orton and up the B road to Shap.  Which meant I drove on the little road up to Shap inbetween the two sections of the M6 - which still feels weird.

Stopped for more photos, actually stopped and took some of Haweswater too.  Waved and said hello to a farmer and his gorgeous dog on a quad bike or something similar.

Then just came home for lunch and coffee.  I didn't want to stop anywhere today as I'm taking Mum into a Cafe tomorrow and once in the week is enough at the moment.

That was my day - all in all quite pleasant.  Managed to listen to more of my Miss Silver audiobook too.  I would like to find a few walks around Orton Fells that I can manage, maybe with Hubby later in the year.

I did see several walkers but at different times and all were only in couples or as a family so no horrendous hoards today - much to my relief.  In fact it was nice feeling so isolated.

Hope you all had a good day too.  Stay safe and take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.