Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In a dark corner

I did not expect to see cyclamen in flower, but three plants are bravely flowering in a shady corner of the garden.

My first walk was with Margret and we walked on the flat road as far as Burn Lane and back. (It’s not far.) We sat in the garden for a chat then parted to watch Shokoofeh Azar being interviewed about The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree. She gave an interesting insight into the use of magical realism in the lives of many Iranians, for whom the dead are very close.

I had a second walk later, then a sleep. Hannah and I prepared a salad for dinner. We all watched Sunday’s Countryfile from Northumberland, mainly Bamburgh.

Arth: Psst, Aggie, what does gingerly mean? Margret said I was walking gingerly and I wondered if she thought I was Fred Astaire.
Aggie: Sigh. She meant that you were walking cautiously. I know it’s because you still keep giving way occasionally.
Arth: I do, don’t I? Marj says I’m doing well, so that’s enough for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.