5km WALK

A few weeks ago on the local residents Facebook page I noticed a post about an event to raise money for The Staithes at Dunston (they were damaged by fire in May.) There would be a virtual walking or running 5 or 10k Challenge where you could take part anytime between Aug 10th  and Aug 23rd.  I thought it might interest Neil so I sent him the link and he signed up for the 10k run.  Then he suggested I should take part and do the 5k walk.  He said he would walk with me if we chose a day he was off work.  Well that day was today.

Neil did his own 10k run this morning in strong winds and pouring rain but by the time I left the house it was sunny and warm - but still windy. I got the bus to Neils house and arrived around 1.15 pm. Luckily Neil lives very near to the Staithes so we were able to use them as our starting point. Neil showed me how to use Strava on my phone to record my walk and then we were off. We  set off walking towards Newcastle along the path that runs by the River Tyne.  It felt great to be down there after being " holed up " in my village since March.  A wonderful change of scene.  We reached the Quayside and did a bit of a loop around The Sage and The Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art.  Then we crossed over the Millennium Bridge and walked along towards the Swing Bridge and by then we had done 5km.  Whew.  It was tough going at times and I would have loved to have sat down for a rest now and again as my back was aching but the challenge was continuous walking so I couldn't do that.  Now I need to send the proof from Strava off to the organisers and a medal will be winging its way to me in due course.

My collage shows The Staithes, me and Neil before the walk and then us both on The Quayside when we had completed it.

After a few mins rest on a bench overlooking the river we set off walking up to the centre of town. Its uphill all the way.  I was exhausted when I reached Eldon Square.  We had intended eating in Nandos but it was full  - we were told to come back in 45 mins.  Too long to wait so instead we went to Ask Italian where there was plenty of space.  I chose Salmon niçoise salad.  However they had no salmon so they served it with sea bass ( I have been to Ask a few times and ordered salmon and they never seem to have it ) Neil had a huge calzone.  We both had pud.  Neil - honeycomb cheesecake with ice cream.  Me - Salted Caramel Gelato Sundae.  That consisted of salted caramel ice cream, mini meringues and cream served in a waffle basket with caramel sauce on the side.  BUT - they didn't have any waffle baskets so they just served it in a bowl.  Maybe  they should " get their act together " and try to provide everything they have on their menu. Saying that all the food was delicious.

Neil went home after the meal and I has a bit of a mooch round town.  I haven't been to Newcastle since March.  It was the same .... but different.  Markers on the pavement to show you which direction to walk.  Security on doors limiting the number of shoppers going in etc.  The thing that surprised me was how busy it was ... really crowded.  Bit of a shock for me as since March I have only shopped in my village where there have been very few people around.

I went to Waitrose.  What a treat.  Just to look round a different supermarket from the three in my village  was wonderful.

Around 6pm I got the bus home.The bus arrived empty and I was first in the queue so I had my pick of the seats.  Back home by 6.30pm and ready for a sit down and a cold drink.

Musical link - WALK THIS WAY  by Aerosmith

Added an Extra of the beautiful sunset we had this evening.

Steps today - 18,325 ( 11.49km     7.14 miles )

CORONA CLASSIC - The Syncopated Walk - Irving Berlin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.