Some flowers

I picked up my groceries today and otherwise accomplished almost nothing.  I kept getting caught up in reading instead of doing chores.  In particular I read a piece written by a man whose wife is a physician in the Army about the stresses experienced by the families of those who serve.  I was appalled by the comments sent in by readers.  The number of them who said that military members deserved no special consideration, that they got great pay and benefits so they shouldn't "whine," that they signed up for this so they've no right to want any more than they get, that they were wasting time protecting big oil, and that "it is what it is" was so unexpected and saddening.  It reminded me of when the Vietnam veterans came home and were subject to abuse because they followed orders in an inhumane war.  Blaming soldiers for the military decisions that were so heinous.

Since this is Flower Friday, and I've had no access to actual flowers today, I'm blipping these stylized flowers that appear on my favorite mask, made for me by Lex.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.