Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Look at our visitors!

Tim, Beth and their three children came to see us today, en route from Sheffield to a campsite near Lindisfarne. Tim is my godson and I have known him since he was a few hours old, back in the time when I lived in Southampton. His parents are amongst my oldest friends.

We were worrying about the weather all week and again today. Should they come on their way home on Wednesday rather than today? Would the rain hold off?

Tim phoned when they were passing the Angel of the North. I said, "it's only drizzling a bit". Within 2 minutes it was pouring. Oh dear, but, as you see, the sun shone and it was dry for their visit.

After 3 hours in the car, the children were keen to run around and enjoyed my garden. They were delightful and funny and easy. Zara (8) went to talk to Mum from the conservatory. Then Beth went, then the boys. 

Tim and I chatted outside and caught up, but only scratched the surface in the short time they could stay.

He had wonderful news. This morning he heard that a paper had been accepted for publication by Nature Communications. The first authors are a PhD student and two fourth year students. He and Beth had a bottle of champagne on board to celebrate later. They had a tent to pitch before then!!

I asked for a group photo and suggested they arrange themselves, but not in a row. I have a series of photos of them doing this. It was hard to chose.

Jennifer and Peter called in the midst of the visit and did not stay long. It was lovely to see them.

This morning I watched Paul Sanders speaking about his approach to photography. It's available on the Park Cameras site. I know his work but saw a lot of new images and I was inspired.

Tonight, the Scottish First Lady, Nicola Sturgeon, interviewed Bernadine Evaristo as part of the Edinburgh Book Festival. How wonderful to have a leader who reads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.