Book

Cathy left this book for me to read when she visited in the school holidays. I usually read a lot but during Covid lockdown and restrictions I have read less than usual. I wonder why? I have had a couple of non fiction books on the boil but they don’t keep you up half the night so that’s probably the reason.

This is entertaining from the first page, Elizabeth Gilbert is a good story teller. It’s set in New York in the 1940s so I ‘spose the city of girls refers to the fact the men are away at the war. Time will tell. I finished another yesterday about Clancy of the Overflow. There is a poem written about the man and the novel is about the early days in NSW and how the settlers and indigenous people interacted, how the over stocking of sheep and clearing of the trees created long term changes to the land and for the most part how the women of the day coped. Thought provoking. I just looked back and see I started the book on 8th Feb....took me awhile but I’ve read a few in between. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.