Plenty of insect activity

around the squash blooms this morning. "Form an orderly line". The squash plant has both male & female flowers on the same plant so not too far to travel for pollination. There's a bee inside this male bloom, it's body covered in pollen. Nature is wonderful. I was busy on the plot this morning. On leaving the house earlier I'd shouted "I should'nt be long, just some watering then I'll be home".  I'm never back when I say I will be coz there is always, always, plenty to do. This morning was no exception. I watered & fed tomatoes, squash, courgettes, runner & French beans, cracked open the last batch of comfrey tea, THEN I decided to harvest the Ushiki Kuri Japanese squash.  I still had a 9pack of Purple Sprouting Broccoli  spare, so 4 went in around the Patty Pan squash. I hope they make good companions. I've not protected them from Cabbage Whites, pigeons or the newbie on the block, a bunny wabbit so it will be interesting to see if they are detected by the little blighters. The weather forecast for the next two days is wild & very windy, so a I did a few jobs that I need not have done otherwise. I harvested runner, & French climbing beans, pulled beetroot, & carrots, weeding as I went along,  cut courgettes, & Patty Pan squash (the plant above), then I lifted potatoes. I'd forgotten that we had eaten our supply at the house. Plus I harvested the first whole baby sweetcorn. It's so difficult to judge whether they are ready so I was taking a gamble. The first one was perfect, (companion planted with the French climbing beans), I found one more in this block & two in another block. I think that was all the plot activity this morning.
Back home, I decided to quickly weed the pavement, & kerb edge outside our house, & where we park our cars, which is roadside. The council road sweeper came through last week,  a very rare site these days I hasten to add, so thought I would do my bit too.
Storm Francis is on it's way ............ They've just shown loads of seaweed washed up on the tide at Wembury, I wish was I was nearer ... Would be great for the garden. Hey ho!!! I'll have to make do with local animal poo :- ))
We shall be celebrating the 2020 whole baby corn harvest tonight by making stir fry veggies ( corn, courgette, French bean, onion, & tomato) with Asian pork & noodles.

Thanks to Chantler63 for hosting and setting the challenge MALE/MAIL
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.