Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bug Bubble

One of the many new phrases in our lexicon this year is "the bubble" describing the people we socialize with in the age of Covid.  For my hubs and I, the bubble is very small consisting of only my SIL, two other couples and my three besties.  Someone implied the other day that I am living in fear - I don't feel that I am at all.  I am living with caution and with utmost respect for those around me.  

But I digress.  These young Small Milkweed Bugs (in the True Bug family) are clearly staying within their own bubble with a couple of older siblings looking after a younger one.  I did notice quite a few outliers on nearby stems of milkweed so perhaps they aren't being quite as careful as they should...but they are kids, so we'll cut them a break.  These are the nymph forms of the bug - you can see the beginnings of what will eventually be wings on their backs.  Adults can fly; these youngsters can't so rely on scurrying quickly to avoid predators. (An adult in Extra)  Happily for them, their color tells most predators that they aren't good to eat.  But they do need to watch out for spiders and some of the predatory stink bugs.  

Some people don't allow these bugs in their milkweed patch, but the reality is that they don't do much harm to the plants and pose no threat whatsoever to the monarch caterpillars, so I let them hang out.  They add a certain festive air to the milkweed, don't you think?

Another hot and sticky day.  I should have gotten out early before the temps went up, but I didn't.  Hopefully tomorrow I will be more motivated.  

Had a Zoom call with MIL today (Hubs had an interview and could not make the call) and we spent the 15 minutes laughing.  I love telling her stories about her husband and her kids, especially the kinds of stories that make her laugh because she really does have the best laugh.  She will have forgotten the entire conversation the moment we hung up, but at least for those 15 minutes she was happy and laughing.  We are lucky that she seems to have settled firmly into a "happy" phase of dementia.

Stay safe out there - this virus is like a deadly global game of Whack-a-mole.  And as always ... be kind and loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.