Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

In The Mountains: Day 4

Spending so much time in the sun and heat started to take a toll on me. I was scheduled to leave in the morning but didn't have the energy to pack. So I extended my stay by a day.

The best thing that happened today was after dark.  Doc and I were on the overlook patio comparing notes and wondering if it was ever going to rain again.  It was hot and oppresively humid.  Finally, we fel a few drops, which turned into a light shower. We stayed and continued talking throughout those ten or so minutes.  I kept hearing rustling in the woods below and looked a few times into the dark but didn't see anything.  Moments after the rain stopped, a ringtail appeared on the top railing, looking straight at me but less than two feet away from Doc's head.  All I could do was point and semi-shout "ringtail!" By the time she turned her head it had hopped to the bottom rung of the fence.  We watched it climb down and under our raised patio. She leaned over and was calling out "hey, ringy, ringy." I told her she had too much wine and she laughed. It was the first sighting of a ringtail by both of us. Here's a short Desert Museum video about the ringtail.

I really enjoyed her company while I was there. I knew I wouldn't see her before she left in the morning so I left a birthday card for her to find.

The blip is a Mexican jay and the extraa White-breasted nuthatch. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.