Steading

My washing-fest continued today.  TT went off to help at church and I was left to get BB up and out to his gardening.  I also fitted in a drive to a nearby village to pick up some bread, croissants and bagels from the artisan bakery.  We were having them delivered during lockdown, but they have stopped delivering now that their shop has re-opened.  We have been missing the bread, so I decided to treat us.
BB claimed not to know where he was going, so I gave him a lift and then went and did my shopping.  I seemed to pack a lot in before 10am, but it all went downhill after that, though I did continue with my housework from yesterday.
It rained after lunchtime, which was not good news for my washing.  It eventually went off, so TT and I decided to get out for a walk.  We followed a route we found on the internet.  It was a nice walk, except we got lost!  We followed the instructions, and ended up somewhere completely different, and we really didn’t know where we were, as we couldn’t see any recognisable landmarks.  Thankfully TT had his phone with him and we were able to find out where we were.  We had to re-trace our steps part way and then take a different turning from that indicated on our instructions.  Unfortunately that took us down a path that was not well-trodden and so was pretty overgrown, and as it had been raining, was wet.  My feet were soon sodden and that bit of the walk was really miserable. We eventually got to somewhere we recognised and knew, then continued to Ormiston, and then back along the railway path to Pencaitland, where we had started.  We got home much later than we had bargained for after our detour.
Much later TT and I watched the last episode of Spin.
We walked past this old steading on our walk, as well as this field of bales, that looked like standing stones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.