Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Under the willow tree

Last night Tommy had a friend to stay and they decided to go out to the local pub for supper to take advantage of the government's 'eat out to help out' scheme (for those not in the UK the government have offered a discount of 50% off all meals and non alcoholic drinks limited to £10 per person from Monday to Wednesday). So Gavin and I decided to also go out and went to the local Italian restaurant and had a superb meal (we both chose seabass).

This morning I was about to take Xena for a walk when the alarm engineer arrived to service the alarm and carry out some upgrades. I had forgotten he was coming and I could not go out as he needed my phone to connect to the app which enables us to activate the alarm from our phones. Petty crime has increased in our area - probably in most areas in the SE of England so we do use the alarm. The latest scam I heard about was that when coming home from London by Uber, people are being mugged as they arrive at home and there is the concern that some Uber drivers may be tipping off these criminals about the address and details. Very worrying but at least the crimes are not violent. Xena does not seem to mind if her walk is late, in fact I think unlike most of her breed she would be happy to snooze for most of the day! 

This horse lives down the road from our house in a paddock next to the woods and I see it every day, but today I liked the sunshine on its coat.

Gavin is back to working 3 days per week in the office and is as busy as ever. The estate agents around here have said that the property market is very buoyant at the moment, and a car salesman told us that he has never sold so many cars in 28 years as he has over this summer! So much for a depressed economy....although I think it is only in certain sectors where people are spending more on their home and lifestyle and not on travelling abroad on summer holidays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.