Broadway, The Cotswolds

I was off on another adventure today, continuing my summer Cotswold series. This week it’s Broadway. I’ve been here before but not for a few years and not camping. The lovely campsite is just a 15-minute walk from the village.

I am a bit of a storm-magnet. I have a habit (unintended) of camping during big storms! Last September I was on the Isle of Wight during storm Humberto. In July during my first trip this year I was camping during storm Edouard. And today storm Francis rolled in just after I arrived, with winds in this area as high as 75 kph. It was worse in other parts of the UK.

Undeterred I walked into the village late afternoon to look for a place to eat. It was more windy than wet. I window shopped a bit and then settled on the Lygon Arms for dinner (bottom left in the collage). The hotel and restaurant are very well known in the area. Way too pricy for me normally, but with ‘Sunak’s Special’ or ‘Rishi Dishi’ (the government’s half price meal deal for the month of August), I had a very nice meal indeed in a beautiful posh restaurant for well within my price range!

The rain arrived by the time I walked back to the campsite but it was the wind that made it tricky. I just about managed without my umbrella turning inside out. I was happy to be back safely inside Alfie the Campervan. It felt a bit turbulent inside but it was safe!

(For those reading from outside the UK, Rishi Sunak is our Chancellor of the Exchequer - and it was he who instigated the August ‘Eat Out to Help Out’ scheme to help the restaurant industry to recover from the effects of the COVID restrictions.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.