Call them what you will!

A pleasant day today with quite a bit of sunshine. I did mean to go out for a walk, but having got into some gardening I stayed at home while the others went out.

I did some weeding on the bank, pulling up all the grasses sown from the bird seed and pulling out more of the wretched Gaultheria shallon. I planted three shrubs up there where there's very little depth of soil, so I hope they'll be OK. These are the first I've planted on the bank above the house - they were the Chilean myrtle Amomyrtus luma, known at one time as Myrtus lechleriana, the fragrant maddenia Rhododendron 'Martha Wright', and the pineapple scented Cytissus x racemosa, or whatever it's called these days. There seems to be considerable disagreement over whether it's a hybrid or a species, but it's generally thought to come from Tenerife.

My Blip today is a not very good picture of what, again, used to be called Leucojum autumnalis, but should now be called Acis autumnalis. So many name changes, so much fun for taxonomists, so much confusion for gardeners! I had great difficulty in getting focussed as it's quite breezy out there, and always find it hard to expose white flowers properly. It will have to do! The flowers are tiny, about a centimetre in width.

Quote of the Day:

William Shakespeare - "A rose by any other name would smell as sweet."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.