A mixed day

Without a proper photo for today.

Got up late after a lie in reading my book. Almost at the end, and something horrible happened in the story, so I got up!! Intended to relax and just read. Of course that didn’t happen, but you knew that!

Went to Sheringham with Mollie to buy some bits of crafts in the wool shop and The Works. Chatted to both shop keepers, who were both older ladies, and ended up talking about Mollie’s degree. Both congratulated her on getting a First, they were so sweet and kind. It was nice to be part of the community there, and not just a visitor. Especially when I saw on my Facebook memories that it was 6 years ago today that I was redundant from Cambs CC. Where has that time gone?! We have come far....& not just in miles.

Home at 1.30 and after lunch did something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time, and attempted to make paper. I had googled it. So after shredding some newspaper I soaked it, then blended it in my food blender!! It became this thick grey sludge. Then I had to make a frame. I didn’t have the right stuff, but used some fabric and stapled it to an old photo frame. The grey sludge (pulp) goes into a bowl of water, then you scoop it up with the frame and level it a bit, and let it drain. So far so good ( if you like grey sludge paper!) Then I sprinkled poppy seeds on it. The next bit hasn’t worked though. I drained but it won’t turn out to dry, so I’ve left it in the frame to see if it dries like that. If not, there is nothing lost, but if it works you will hear about it!!

Then I made cushion covers for 2 cushions I bought for Daniel when we were on holiday. I’m really pleased with them. He can have them when he next visits.

We had tea, scones and cream in the garden late afternoon. How many more nice days will there be this summer, I wonder. Must make the most of them.

Luckily for me, Mollie cooked dinner and Henry washed up. The evening has been spent in front of the tv. Mama Mia again, or returns or whatever it is.

Work tomorrow but I only have a 2 day week this week, so won’t complain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.