Birthday

No gig today. My car has been to service so I couldn't go anywhere.

In the afternoon my neighbour, Mr T and I was invited to his daughters birthday party, outside in her mothers garden, not far from here. I've known her since she was sixteen, now she's 28. Time flies. She is now married to an American and lives in Minnesota. Her parents are divorced since many years but have no problems seeing each others as friends. 

The mother lives in a small, old farm from the nineteenth century. The old barn is built in a traditional method, common on the island, called "Post-and-plank", a genius and quick way to build. Here, it was mostly used for simpler buildings like barns or stables, the main house was built in stone or timber, depending on the status of the owner. Timber was very hard to get hold of on the island, many houses are simply moved here from the mainland where timber was more accessible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.