Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Sixty-four

...days before election day but only forty until I get to vote.  But who's counting.

Democrats are outnumbered in this retirement town of mostly well-off, old, white, people.  I take solace in the fact that outside this speck of red, the rest of the area swims in a sea of blue.  Pima and Santa Cruz Counties (from Tucson to Mexico) are both majority MINORITY areas as a result of the large Latino and Native demographics.

Anyway, all but about five Democrats on my street are Republicans...I don't know who does or does not support Trump...and I want to get along with everyone. So I only try to get a rise out of them during election season by being the first one to put a sign in my window.  This year, I bought this giant banner. I think it really got under some skin, which just makes me laugh.  The guy directly across the street put his Trump and McSally signs up but his wife is a Democrat and I really pay him no mind.  I don't care who anyone supports, really, and I try not to utter the words, "how can you vote for...?"  Mainly because I want them to respect my point of view and I have to live in this community.

But there is definitely something in the water many Trump supporters in town are drinking.  Larry (across the street) and I differ but we engage in what I believe to be normal behavior.  Put a sign or signs in your window or yard.  Pretty simple. But there it was, on stupid Saturday when someone decided endangering lives was funny.  Okay, so there was that stunt.  Earlier, a household on my street nailed a Trump sign way up near the top of the Giant Saguaro in their front yard.  I mean, what's the point of that, other than to deface a gorgeous cactus?  It's not like a sign in their yard wouldn't have been seen...they live on the corner.  It's befuddling. I went by there this afternoon to take a picture and the sign was down. I believe Mother Nature took care of it.

Here's another upcoming stupid stunt. The local Republican Club is planning a mock funeral on Friday.  Their plan is to get a fake casket , decorate their cars (or more likely their golf carts) and have a procession past Democratic headquarters.  Their theme is "Burying the Democratic Party."  That is so offensive on so many levels.

First, there's the obvious: thinking a mock funeral is funny as the number of Covid-19 related deaths continue to rise, when so many have died alone and without their families having had the chance to hold proper funerals for their loved ones. 

Then there's the local angle. The idea of killing Democrats in an area that suffered through the Tucson Massacre in 2011, just eight days after I started blipping, is horrifying.  Our Congresswoman, Gabby Giffords, who some of you may have seen at the DNC, was shot in the head, survived but will never be the same. Want inspiration? Her husband, Mark Kelly, who is running for the US Senate (once thought to be her future path, and maybe the 1st woman president) said it was the longest speech she has made since the shooting, about 1-1/2 minutes. Honestly, I REALLY recommend watching it, if not for the content, then for the courage.

And they want to bury Democrats.  That's sickening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.